Travel times: Disneyland Paris

Last week I was lucky enough to spend an amazing 3 days at Disneyland Paris.

We stayed in Disney’s Sequoia Lodge, which was a 10 minute walk from the parks. The hotel was really sweet, it had Bambi themed decorations, and a lovely outdoor pool.

I’m not a big rollercoaster person (fainting+spinning around=not good) but Disney had so much more. We saw a few shows, including the main parade (pics below), met a few characters, and went on a few of the smaller rides. As a non-rollercoaster rider, I think 3 days was enough, I managed to do everything I wanted in that time.

Foodwise, we had a buffet both nights, at the Plaza Gardens and Agrabah’s Restaurant, both of which were great.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Accessibility

For 99% of the holiday, Disney and its cast members (staff) were amazing. On arrival, I got an “access card”, which I had to show a doctor’s letter (or other evidence) to acquire, as well as access guides for both parks.

The access guides showed every attraction in both parks, with information about accessibility (physical access, learning and sensory disorders, guide dogs and more), and were incredibly detailed, with information such as transfer times to the ride, how many steps there are and whether the ride involved darkness). Some rides were entirely wheelchair accessible, and almost every ride had level access as far as the vehicle. There were also special areas for the shows and parades to make sure I had a good view.

The access card allowed me special access to all the attractions. This varied from ride to ride; for some I joined the fastpass queue, some I had to book a time to come back later, and some had a special entrance for me to use. Every ride had somewhere safe to leave the wheelchair with a member of staff, and the longest I had to wait for a ride was about 15 minutes which was amazing.

The staff were also really respectful, some needed to ask questions about my needs to ensure the ride was safe but this was done sensitively. They always brought my chair to me when I was getting off the ride so I didn’t have to walk far, and were generally really smiley and helpful.

A few downsides: the general public were…as expected, unwilling to move out of the way and giving me the usual looks, especially if I skipped a queue. The wheelchair areas for the parades didn’t have much shade, which when we were advised to get there half an hour before it started, meant a long wait in the sun. Also, the buses between the parks and the resort were technically accessible, but the driver seemed to make a point of parking as far away from the pavement as possible which wasn’t helpful.

Have you been to Disneyland Paris?

Leave a Reply

