May Favourites

First off this month, I FINISHED MY DEGREE. Finished. Completely. That is my favourite thing from May. I do also have some things I’ve been loving that other people can experience though, don’t worry!

I’ve really got into podcasts this month while I’ve been making the most of my new found free time, specifically Spoonie PJ Party and Banging Book Club.

Spoonie PJ Party is a new podcast run by the lovely Natasha Lipman where, along with special guests, she discusses all things spoonie, from the more serious like how to find accessible work opportunities, to the more fun, like visiting the theatre. I’m pretty sure there’s nothing else like this out there, and it’s so reassuring to hear people talking about what you’re going through.

Banging Book Club is, as the name suggests, a book club focusing on sex and gender, run by YouTubers Hannah Witton, Lucy Moon and Leena Norms. Whilst I don’t tend to read the books (oops!) the podcasts are still hilarious and insightful. This year they’ve also started producing minisodes around issues the books raise, such as disability and sex, which are great!

I’ve also been reading lots since I finished my essays, which is something I really missed while I’ve been working. I’m a big fan of crime/thriller books, and especially of Rachel Abbott, and her new(ish, I’m a bit late to the party) book The Sixth Window didn’t disappoint. I am very rarely speechless after reading something, if I enjoy it i’m usually so excited I want to shout to anyone who’ll listen, but this managed to shock me into silence. I don’t want to say too much and give anything amazing, but it’s very much worth reading and keeps you guessing right until the last page.

Last but not least, last week I had a lovely trip to Edinburgh to celebrate the end of uni, but there’ll be a post up later this week with lots of pictures from that!

What have you been loving this month?

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

