Coaching with Young Women’s Trust

In January 2017 I thought I had my life planned out, I was 3 months away from graduating university, I had a few interview offers for jobs I was really excited about, and plans to go travelling, as well as where I wanted my career to take me.

There was one downside, my health. I’d never been particularly healthy, I have an unfortunate habit of fainting, quite bad anxiety, and I was just permanently exhausted. All the time. Couldn’t get out of bed some days exhausted. I assumed I was just a bit lazy, that I was a typical student, not eating a very healthy diet, and that once I joined the adult world I’d be absolutely fine. So when my mum sent me a link to an article about a medical condition she thought I had, I felt like the rug was pulled from under me. I went to the doctors and they agreed, and although I’m still having tests done it’s looking likely that there is something pretty wrong with me, that it probably isn’t going away, and that I am not just lazy.

Whilst it was a relief, I wasn’t just being lazy, it really interfered with all my carefully laid out plans. Suddenly, working 60 hour weeks probably wasn’t going to be possible, moving to the other side of the country, away from the medical staff I’d only just met wasn’t sensible, and I was still graduating in 3 months.

I’d heard of the Young Women’s Trust before, but I didn’t need coaching, I had my life planned out! But when I saw an advert for them on my Facebook, I knew I should sign up. My coach, Carole, got in touch a few days later, and we arranged a time to chat.

Straight away Carole put me at ease. Being a person who likes to plan, I was metaphorically running round in circles, desperate for someone to fix everything that seemed to be spiralling out of control. Carole managed to calm that down straight away, and helped me focus on what I really wanted.

I had my six sessions over 4 months, and those 4 months were some of the most chaotic of my life. I seemed to be endlessly having medical tests, searching for some kind of job I could do, and trying to keep on top of all my university work. But each time I spoke to Carole, I managed to get some perspective, and another piece of the jigsaw fell into place.

I applied for further study on a whim, just because people kept saying I should, but I didn’t think my heart was really in it. However, after talking it through with Carole, I realised this was something I was actually really excited and passionate about. Even she said whenever I spoke about it, she could tell I really wanted to do it.

So four months on, my health may still not be in a great place, but I’m back on track. As I said in my final session, it may not be the same track I was on a few months back, but it’s a track I’m happy with. I don’t know where it will take me, but fingers crossed it’s somewhere good.

I can safely say that without the help of Carole and YWT I would still be running around in circles, trying to regain my confidence, and reform my life plan.

If you’re a woman aged 16-30, based in the UK, and you think you could benefit from FREE life coaching, have a look at the YWT website!

 

One thought on “Coaching with Young Women’s Trust

Add yours

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

