Studying as a Spoonie

I’ve seen a few of these recently but I thought I’d add my thoughts for how best to manage a degree with a chronic illness!

  1. Ask for help- speak to anyone who might be able to help, your lecturers, flatmates, supervisor, disability services, accommodation services. The more people know, the more likely you are to get the support you need.
  2. Study in the best way for you- everyone goes on about spending all night in the library and working until 4am on deadline days. If that’s how you word best then by all means go for it, but just because that’s what everyone else is doing, you don’t have to. I do the vast majority of my work lying in bed, first thing in the morning, and it works for me.
  3. Plan extra time- give yourself a few extra days/weeks before a deadline, just in case you have a flare. I always set my own deadlines at least a week before the official deadline, then whatever happens I have extra time to play with.
  4. Save your references! This isn’t a spoonie thing, this is an everyone thing. It seriously saves so much stress. Everything you read, make a note of it, just in case you want to use it in an essay, it’ll save so much time.

What are your best study tips?

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

