How I’ve changed

A few weeks ago I had to face my ex-boyfriend. We broke up almost 2 years ago, after a very difficult relationship, and like most people, I was dreading seeing him. Even more so, because I feel like I’ve lost so much in the last 2 years.

I’m not the person I was. I spend most of my time in bed. I use a wheelchair. I can barely walk sometimes. When the self-doubt kicks in, I wonder why anyone would want someone so broken. And of course, you want to look your best for an ex, you want to show what they’re missing, and I was finding that really difficult.

However I’m also not the same person mentally, I’m so much stronger. Despite everything my body has thrown at me, I’m still fighting. I’ve got over a horrible relationship. I’m going to graduate in a few months, and hopefully go on to a MSc.

So yes, I’m not the same person, physically I’m not as strong, but mentally, I’m still fighting, and I won’t stop.

How have you changed in the last year?

Leave a Reply

